PIZZA PARTY

On a whim I bought a bag of whole wheat pizza dough from the refrigerator of Trader Joes.   All day at work, I thought about the different pie combinations I could try  and when I got home, I was ready for a pizza party.  First, I took the dough and an assortment of cheeses out of the fridge to let them come to room temperature. Then,  I caramelized onions in butter & balsamic vinegar,  sauteed broccoli with garlic, roasted acorn squash with maple syrup, chopped chili peppers, opened a can of tomato sauce and grated smoked gouda, goat and cheddar cheese. With my toppings in order, I was ready to get to the fun part.

I preheated my toaster oven as high as it would go (450), divided the dough into four even pieces and grabbed an empty wine bottle to use as a makeshift rolling pin.  I found this heat diffuser in my junk drawer and decided to use it as a makeshift pizza stone. I left it in the toaster oven to heat up and started rolling out the dough on a well floured counter top.  The hardest part about making the pizza was maneuvering it from the counter top onto the hot ‘pizza stone’ but regardless of a few mishaps involving floppy dough, these pizzas tasted delicious.  After arranging and eating several pizzas solo, the Mr. finally walked in, sampled and praised my handy work.  Here are the top 3 combinations from last night’s feast

Caramelized Onions/Goat Cheese/Acorn Squash

Broccoli/Red Chili Peppers/Chedder

Smoked Gouda/Japaleno
I think this would be a great activity for a group, particularly with some wine involved! Who’s in?

Leave a Reply

