Disconnected

This past weekend, I lost my phone of 3 years on the way back to Brooklyn after I had a little too much fun on our night out in honor of Whitney Houston. My gadget was on its death bed, but I felt unsettled about the loss instead of lucky.  Thank god for my husband who distracted me on my cell-less Sunday with a real estate hunt around Brooklyn Heights and rare trip on the G train. We got off on Nassau Avenue and after attempting to have a late lunch as the painfully hip Five Leaves was switching its menus, we ended up sitting cozy by the fireplace at Spritzenhaus33 (33 Nassau Avenue) drinking cider and sharing a large pretzel.  We left and went to Radegast Hall and Biergarten  for my cousin’s 25th birthday and bumped into my aunt and another cousin! While I didn’t eat anything, the food looked and smelled amazing and a great jazz band was playing ragtag! I’ll have to go back for my belgium frite fix asap, everyone’s invited!  After bidding the birthday girl adieu we were on our way to Cafe de La Esquina in Williamsburg (225 Wythe Avenue) for a pre-dinner snack! The Brooklyn spinoff of the original La Esquina is housed in an authentic  vintage diner, which is truly my kind of milieu for just about any type of snack! Phoneless, I grabbed the latest Vogue off a nearby magazine rack and devoured it during a lengthy wait.  We were finally rewarded with two messy fish tacos, wrapped in a corn tortilla and smothered in spicy slaw. The familiar taste brought me back to the good old days in Nolita but I was ready to ditch this slow as molasses waitress and get out of the cold for good!  We retired to Dumbo in time for the Grammy’s and Ms. Swift’s performance which inspired the #heehaw trend on twitter!After a restful off the grid type Sunday, I was feeling so relaxed, I wondered how long I could last without a mobile gadget.  A friend of mine often fantasizes about going off the grid on a regular basis, I’d like to join her, yet both our significant others are frustrated with the idea of not being able to reach us! ( the antithesis of Waiting For Him To Call!)  My cellular hiatus was short lived.  Monday evening after work, I went to the Tmobile store and plugged myself back into the human network. No one can find me right now, I thought in my post-work, midtown anxiety, before 3 customer service reps worked slowly to set up a new phone for me.  My New Year’s resolution of starting a blog must go on! While its not an Iphone, my new blackberry has a built in twitter and facebook app! Not that advanced I know, but at least me and all my BBM friends and family don’t feel guilty about supporting Chinese  child labor!  Now that’s a reason to disconnect!

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

